Pinterest Day 3 – Pizza Party Time

I’ve been trudging through my Pinterest boards trying to find something I wanted to make and I kept coming up with nothing. I either didn’t have the crafty items I needed, I felt like the particular craft was too time consuming or convoluted, or the pin wasn’t as cool as I thought it was when I first pinned it.

I went to the grocery store today and I remembered a pin for a pizza recipe I wanted to try so I bought the ingredients I needed to make it. After I got home and started putting the ingredients together it hit me. This will be my Pinterest Day post!

So, I know it isn’t yarn related, but I’ve decided that Pinterest Day doesn’t have to be just about yarny things.

And now I introduce to you, Bubble Pizza!

Here is the link to the pin: Bubble Pizza

You will need:

1 8×8 square baking dish

1 can of biscuits (not the flaky layered kind)

1 jar of pizza sauce

1 package of pizza cheese

Your favorite pizza toppings

 

Pre-heat your oven to 400F and grease your baking dish. I just used some of the vegetable oil spray.

I used 1 can of 10 homestyle biscuits (the little ones) (7.5 oz). Pop that open and either cut or tear them into quarters and plop them in the bottom of your baking dish. I made sure that the pieces didn’t overlap.

After that, top your biscuit pieces with your toppings. Make sure that any toppings you choose are pre-cooked. We chose pineapple chunks, ham, and sliced jalapenos.

Biscuits with various toppings added.

Biscuits with various toppings added.

Once the toppings have been added, smother that concoction in pizza sauce. I used an 8 ounce jar, but I think next time I will use a little less sauce. Maybe 6 ounces.

Smother in sauce.

Smother in sauce.

Now that you are adequately sauced, top with cheese. I am a glutton so I used an entire 8 ounce bag of shredded pizza cheese. Yum.

CHEESE.

CHEESE.

Toss that glorious thing in the oven and bake for 20-25 minutes. It will be all bubbly and delicious smelling when the timer goes off.

Pizza time!

Pizza time!

This recipe turned out great. It was almost like a deep dish pizza. My husband and I ate the entire thing. Hooray for no leftovers!

I’m excited to make it again using some different toppings. In fact, I think the next one is going to be Ruben-style. Biscuits, corned beef, thousand island, sauerkraut, and swiss cheese… Oh man, that sounds so delicious.

Really, you could turn this into just about anything you want. I may also try to make a dessert style. I’ll likely use some apple pie filling and who knows what else. I haven’t brainstormed that far.

When I try a new variation I’ll try to remember to post an update for you.

I hope you give this recipe a shot. It’s cheap, easy, and you get to use your favorite pizza toppings. I’m sure it would be favorite for kids.

Until we meet again.


Leave a comment