She’s crafty, knits in the round, she’s crafty, man, she’s always, uh… making stuff.

Still working hard over here. I feel like I’ve gotten a lot accomplished. I’ve managed to finish a few things and make progress on some other things. So here is a picture heavy update of things I’ve gotten done:

Using up some microfiber yarn.

Using up some microfiber yarn.

More microfiber yarn. Headbands this time.

More microfiber yarn. Headbands this time.

I’ve had some handbags sitting in my purgatory pile for quite some time. I got them out and worked on them for a bit. This included getting my sewing machine out and reacquainting myself with how it works. I’m happy to report that it was like riding a bicycle.

handbags

Added lining to two of these three handbags.

I didn’t have enough muslin to line the yellow and black chevron handbag in the back, but I did use some denim to make the bottom a little sturdier, as that particular bag is quite bucket like instead of being some squares sewn together like the other two. Handles were added to the chevron bag and a shoulder strap was added to the orange,blue, and white bag. The purple granny square bag needs handles and I am still deciding if I want to buy or make them.

Here is the orange, blue, and white bag finished. I had planned on selling it but I like it so much that I’ve been usuing it.

Love it.

Love it.

In sock making news, I had been working on another pair for the husband. This time in the colorway Red Hots from Lion Brand Sock-Ease.

Vanilla ankle socks with a Fish Lips Kiss heel.

Vanilla ankle socks with a Fish Lips Kiss heel.

One done...

One done…

And BAM. Socks for the husband.

And BAM. Socks for the husband.

After that was done I picked up some socks I had been working on for myself. These socks are worked with one round of solid and one round of self-striping yarn. I think the colors are really pretty and work well together.

Striped shorty socks for me.

Striped shorty socks for me.

Here's a fun experiment I tried with the toe.

Here’s a fun experiment I tried with the toe.

I have been using the FLK heel as my go to heel for socks because I like how tidy it looks and how comfortable it is. I have used it on a few pairs of socks and one day I said, “Self, this could be used as a toe, I just know it. One of these days, self, you’re going to have to see if you can make it work. Tim Gunn style.” So I decided to try with this pair. I worked the heel instructions as they are written but then I grafted the stitches together after the heel was worked instead of working back into the round. I’m glad to say there was minimal cussing involved, and that’s only because I hate kitchener stitch. Here’s a pic on the sock blockers.

FLK heel AND toe. Hold on to your hats, friends. Shit just got crazy.

FLK heel AND toe. Hold on to your hats, friends. Shit just got crazy.

Currently, I am working on making a throw with some Red Heart Super Saver scraps I have. It’s quite busy looking but I hate to waste any yarn. Even if it’s scratchy, cheap acrylic. It’s basically just a giant mitered granny square. It’s going to take awhile to finish. I have learned my lesson and I have been weaving in ends after about every three color changes. So that will be nice. Once it’s done it will actually be done and I can celebrate with karate moves and wine.

Oh, I almost forgot. I finished my Garter Slipped scarf that I was working on. I haven’t taken any photos of that but it sure felt good to get it done. Ends weaved in and all that jazz. It turned out quite nicely.

Now it’s time for another pot of coffee and getting back to my hooks and needles. Huzzah!

 


Leave a comment