Welcome to Crocheting Tiger, Knitting Dragon!

I’ve got to be honest here…

I’m not really sure what this blog is going to shape into. I have a lot of ideas for it. I want to use it to show you what I’m working on for the shop. I want to show you new techniques in knitting and crocheting. I want to show you behind the scenes looks at my work space and my materials.

I want to share what inspires me. And I want to inspire you.

That’s what makes this first post so very difficult. What do I share with you first?

Let’s talk about what I am currently working on.

"My Garter Slipped" Scarf, pattern by Bereni.

“My Garter Slipped” Scarf, pattern by Bereni.

This pattern is called “My Garter Slipped Scarf” by Bereni. The free pattern can be found on Ravelry here, or on her blog here.

I have made this scarf twice already. The first time I used a bulky weight yarn with US size 13 knitting needles. The second time I used US size 9 needles and I worked it using a worsted weight shimmer yarn along with an ombre sock weight yarn.

The one I am knitting up now is on US size 9 needles using another worsted weight yarn. The yarn is Deborah Norville Everyday Soft Worsted in colorway Antique Lavender.

When I found this pattern it interested me right away for quite a few reasons.

  • It’s worked flat.
  • I love the texture and how it looks and feels layered, with stitches on top of stitches.
  • It’s so easy!
  • It’s so customizable.

I love a pattern that I can manipulate by using different weight yarns and different sized needles. I’m also a fan of being able to adjust the length or width of the scarf and being able to add my own embellishments. I was able to add fringe to one version I made and it turned out really lovely.

garterSlippedFringe

Using a combination of worsted and sock weight yarns.

Do you have any favorite patterns that you like to customize? Please share them here. Be sure to let us know where you found them!

That’s all I’ve got for today. Thanks for stopping by!


Leave a comment